

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 29, Paragraph 1 of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, as amended, otherwise known as the Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980, is further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 29. Municipal Trial Courts in Cities. - In every city which does not form part of a metropolitan area, there shall be a Municipal Trial Court with one branch, except as hereunder provided:

Two branches for Laoag City; Four branches for Baguio City; Three branches for Dagupan City; Five branches for Olongapo City; Three branches for Cabanatuan City; Two branches for San Jose City: Three branches for Angeles City; Two branches for Cavite City: Two branches for Batangas City; Two branches for Lucena City; Three branches for Naga City; Two branches for Iriga City; Three branches for Legaspi City; Four branches for Roxas City; Four branches for Iloilo Citv: Seven branches for Bacolod City; Two branches for Dumaguete City: Two branches for Tacloban City; Eight branches for Cebu City: Three branches for Mandaue City: Two branches for Tagbilaran City; Two branches for Surigao City; Two branches for Butuan City; Five branches for Cagavan de Oro City; Seven branches for Davao City; Three branches for General Santos City: Two branches for Oroquieta City; Three branches for Ozamis City; Two branches for Dipolog City: Four branches for Zamboanga City; Two branches for Pagadian City; and Two branches for Iligan City."

SEC. 2. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in coordination with the Secretary of the Department of Justice shall immediately include in the Court's program the operationalization of two (2) additional municipal trial court branches for the City of Roxas, Province of Capiz, the funding of which shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act. SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, IN M. DRILON SE DE VENECIA JR FRANK Speaker of the House President of the Senate of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on March 11, 2003 and January 23, 2004, respectively.

OSCAR YABES Secretary of the Senate

ROBERTOP. NAZARENO Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved: MAR 2 1 2004

GLORIAMACAPAGALARROYO President of the Philippines

0



