www.congress.gov.ph \_\_\_\_\_ LAWNUM: RA07377 DATE : 04/10/92 TITLE : AN ACT CONVERTING THE BUKIDNON STATE COLLEGE EXTENSION CENTER IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF TANDAG, PROVINCE OF SURIGAO DEL SUR, INTO A POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE TO BE KNOWN AS THE SURIGAO DEL SUR POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE, INTEGRATING THEREWITH AS ITS BRANCHES THE CAGWAIT SCHOOL OF ARTS AND TRADES IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF CAGWAIT, THE SURIGAO DEL SUR INSTITUTE OF FISHERIES AND AQUACULTURE IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF LIANGA, THE TAGO RIVER VALLEY INSTITUTE OF AGRICULTURE IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF TAGO, AND THE TAGBINA-BAROBO NATIONAL AGRICULTURAL HIGH SCHOOL IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF TAGBINA, ALL IN THE PROVINCE OF SURIGAO DEL SUR, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR TEXT : H. No. 34074 Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila Fifth Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-second day of July, nineteen hundred and ninety-one.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7377]

AN ACT CONVERTING THE BUKIDNON STATE COLLEGE EXTENSION CENTER IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF TANDAG, PROVINCE OF SURIGAO DEL SUR, INTO A POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE TO BE KNOWN AS THE SURIGAO DEL SUR POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE, INTEGRATING THEREWITH AS ITS BRANCHES THE CAGWAIT SCHOOL OF ARTS AND TRADES IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF CAGWAIT, THE SURIGAO DEL SUR INSTITUTE OF FISHERIES AND AQUACULTURE IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF LIANGA, THE TAGO RIVER VALLEY INSTITUTE OF AGRICULTURE IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF TAGO, AND THE TAGBINA-BAROBO NATIONAL AGRICULTURAL HIGH SCHOOL IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF TAGBINA, ALL IN THE PROVINCE OF SURIGAO DEL SUR, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Bukidnon State College Extension Center in the Municipality of Tandag, Province of Surigao del Sur, is hereby converted into a polytechnic college, to be known as the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College, and integrating therewith as its branches the Cagwait School of Arts and Trades in the Municipality of Cagwait, the Surigao del Sur Institute of Fisheries and Aquaculture in the Municipality of Lianga, the Tago River Valley Institute of Agriculture in the Municipality of Tago, and the Tagbina-Barobo National Agricultural High School in the Municipality of Tagbina, all in the Province of Surigao del Sur. The Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College shall have its main campus and seat of administration in the Municipality of Tandag, Province of Surigao del Sur.

SEC. 2. The Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College shall be under the regulation, supervision and control of the Department of Education, Culture and Sports as all similar DECS-supervised colleges.

SEC. 3. The Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College shall offer one- to three-year technical courses and undergraduate courses in the fields of agriculture, aquaculture and fisheries, forestry and industrial education, subject to the approval of the Department of Education, Culture and Sports.

SEC. 4. The Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College shall be headed by a vocational superintendent II to be appointed by the Secretary of Education, Culture and Sports with tenure and salary as provided by law for such position.

SEC. 5. The administrative and academic staff of the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College shall be structured and organized as with other DECS-supervised colleges and with terms and salaries according to DECS' regulations or applicable laws.

SEC. 6. All the assets, fixed and movable, personnel and records of the Bukidnon State College Extension Center in the Municipality of Tandag, the Cagwait School of Arts and Trades in the Municipality of Cagwait, the Surigao del Sur Institute of Fisheries and Aquaculture in the Municipality of Lianga,

the Tago River Valley Institute of Agriculture in the Municipality of Tago, and the Tagbina-Barobo National Agricultural High School in the Municipality of Tagbina, as well as the liabilities or obligations, are hereby transferred to the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College: Provided, however, That the positions, rights, and security of tenure of personnel therein employed under existing laws prior to the absorption by the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College are not impaired: Provided, further, That the incumbent of the positions shall remain in the same status unless otherwise herein provided in this Act. All parcels of land belonging to the Government occupied by the Bukidnon State College Extension Center, the Cagwait School of Arts and Trades, the Surigao del Sur Institute of Fisheries and Aquaculture, the Tago River Valley Institute of Agriculture, and the Tagbina-Barobo National Agricultural High School are hereby declared to be the property of the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College and shall be titled under that name: Provided, finally, That should the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College cease to exist or such parcels of land aforementioned be no longer needed by the College, the same shall revert to the Province of Surigao del Sur.

SEC. 7. All accounts and expenses of the Surigao del Sur Polytechnic College shall be audited by the Commission on Audit of its duly authorized representative.

SEC. 8. In addition to the current appropriations of the Bukidnon State College Extension Center, the Cagwait School of Arts and Trades, the Surigao del Sur Institute of Fisheries and Aquaculture, the Tago River Valley Institute of Agriculture and the Tagbina-Barobo National Agricultural High School, the amount needed to carry out the provisions of this Act shall be included in the General Appropriations Act of the year following its enactment into law and thereafter.

SEC. 9. All laws, presidential decrees, executive orders, rules and regulations contrary to or inconsistent with the provisions of this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.

SEC. 10. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved,

NEPTALI A. GONZALES

RAMON V.

Speaker of the

MITRA

President of the Senate

House

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on May 16, 1991 and December 9, 1991, respectively.

ANACLETO D. BADOY, JR. CAMILO L. SABIO Secretary of the Senate Secretary June Secretary Ju

Approved: APR 10 1992

CORAZON C. AQUINO President of the Philippines