MALACAÑANG MANILA



EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 12

DECLARING THE REORGANIZATION OF THE SUPREME COURT COMPLETED.

WHEREAS, Section 2, Article III of Proclamation No. 3 provides that: "All elective and appointive officials and employees under the 1973 Constitution shall continue in office until otherwise provided by proclamation or executive order or upon the designation or appointment and qualification of their successors, if such is made within a period of one year from February 25, 1986.";

WHEREAS, Chief Justice Claudio Teehankee and Associate Justices Vicente Abad Santos, Jose V. Feria, Pedro L. Yap, Marcelo B. Fernan, Andres R. Narvasa, Ameurfina Melencio-Herrera, Nestor B. Alampay, Hugo E. Gutierrez, Jr. and Isagani A. Cruz had already been appointed to the Supreme Court and have assumed office, without prejudice to the filling of the remaining vacancies;

WHEREAS, the other Associate Justices who were appointed prior to Proclamation No. 3 have tendered their courtesy resignations and extended to the President their cooperation in carrying out the peaceful mandate of rebuilding confidence in the entire governmental system, including the judiciary, which the President accepts with thanks.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CORAZON C. AQUINO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby declare the reorganization of the Supreme Court completed.

This Executive Order shall take effect immediately.

Done in the City of Manila, this 16th day of April in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and eighty-six.

paragon b. aquint

By the President:

