RLA BILL NO. 57

Republic of the Philippines Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao REGIONAL LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Cotabato City

FOURTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY (Second Regular Session)

[MUSLIM MINDANAO AUTONOMY ACT NO. 148]

Begun and held in Cotabato City, on Monday, the twenty eighth day of October, two thousand two.

AN ACT CREATING BARANGAY LABU-LABU II IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SHARIFF AGUAK, PROVINCE OF MAGUINDANAO, APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Be it enacted by the Regional Legislative Assembly in session assembled:

SECTION 1. There is hereby created a Barangay, which shall be known hereafter as Barangay Labu-Labu II in the Municipality of Shariff Aguak, Province of Maguindanao composed of sitios Gogo, Aton & Punol drawn and separated from its mother Barangay Labu-Labu which shall forthwith carry the name of Barangay Labu-Labu II after the ratification of this Act.

SEC. 2. Barangay Labu-Labu II shall be bounded by natural and duly designated boundaries with a total area of 535.33 hectares, more specifically described as follows:

"Beginning on the point of origin, Point1, the line moves due Northeast bearing 87°06' with a distance of 2,793 meters, along Barangay Poblacion towards Point 2; thence due approximately 1,947 meters Southeast bearing 02°47' along the National Highway to Point 3; thence the line continues moving Southwest bearing 66°43' for approximately 2,700 meters to Point 4; thence going Northwest bearing 28°35' for 2,250 meters along Barangay Tuayan closing the traverse and going back to the point of origin, Point 1."

Certified Photocopy from the Originals DATU MAMA M. AMPATUAN Secretary General

SEC. 3. Immediately after the ratification of this Act, the punong barangay and seven (7) members of the Sangguniang Barangay in Barangay Labu-Labu II shall be appointed by the Municipal Mayor of the Municipality of Shariff Aguak.

The chairman and seven (7) members of the Sangguniang Kabataan for each barangay mentioned above shall be appointed by their respective punong barangays.

All appointed barangay officials shall perform and exercise their duties and functions in accordance with Muslim Mindanao Autonomy Act No. 25, otherwise known as the ARMM Local Government Code, R.A. 9054, the Constitution and other existing rules and regulations. They shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected and qualified in the next regular elections.

SEC. 4. The corporate existence of the barangays created in this Act shall commence upon the appointment of their respective punong barangays and majority of the members of its Sangguniang Barangay.

SEC. 5. The Sangguniang Bayan of the Municipality of Shariff Aguak shall appropriate funds for the initial operation of the barangays mentioned above until their equitable shares from internal revenue allotment shall have been released by the national government.

SEC. 6. The commission of Elections (COMELEC) shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite for the purpose in the areas upon the request of the Municipal Mayor concerned within ninety (90) days after the approval of this Act.

SEC. 7. The expenses necessary in the conduct of plebiscite for the purpose shall be appropriated by the Sangguniang Bayan of the Municipality of Shariff Aguak from any available funds in its Municipal Treasury.

SEC. 8. The creation of the barangays provided in this Act shall take effect when approved by the people in plebiscite called for the purpose in the affected areas.

Certified Photocopy from the Originals DATU MANA M. AMPATUAN Secretary General

SEC. 9. This Act take effect immediately after its approval.

APPROVED:

B. ABUBAKAR, JR. ISM Speaker

This Act was passed by the Regional Legislative Assembly on May 14, 2003.

DATU MAMA M. AMPATUAN Secretary-General

APPROVED:

PARQUE S. HUSS Regional Governor

Date: 06-00-03

Certified Photocopy from the Originals M. AMPATUAN DATE MAKA General Secretary