MIS



Republic of the Philippines COMMISSION ON ELECTIONS Manila

EN BANC

IMPLEMENTING REPUBLIC ACT No. 11545, Commissioner "AN ENTITLED REAPPORTIONING LEGISLATIVE Commissioner FIRST DISTRICT OF THE CITY KHO, ANTONIO JR. T. CALOOCAN INTO OF TWO LEGISLATIVE Commissioner (2)DISTRICTS".

RULES ABAS, SHERIFF M. AND REGULATIONS OF Chairman GUANZON, MA. ROWENA AMELIA V. ACT INTING, SOCORRO B. THE Commissioner CASQUEJO, MARLON S. Commissioner FEROLINO, AIMEE P. Promulgated: July 7, 2021

RESOLUTION No. 10706

WHEREAS, on May 23, 2021, President Rodrigo R. Duterte approved Republic Act (R.A.) No. 11545, entitled "An Act Reapportioning the First Legislative District of the City of Caloocan into Two (2) Legislative Districts";

WHEREAS, Section 2 of R.A. No. 11545 requires the Commission on Elections (Commission) to issue the necessary implementing rules and regulations within thirty (30) days after its effectivity;

WHEREAS, Section 4 of R.A. No. 11545 prescribes that the law shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation;

WHEREAS, R.A. No. 11545 was published in the Business Mirror on May 28, 2021, and therefore, became effective on June 12, 2021;

WHEREAS, Section 3 (c) of R.A. No. 7166 instructs:

"Sec. 3. Election of Members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Sanggunian Panlungsod and Sangguniang Bayan. – The elective members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Sangguniang Panlungsod and Sangguniang Bayan shall be elected as follows:

[...]

(c) The number and election of elective members of the Sangguniang Panlungsod and Sangguniang Bayan in the Metro Manila Area, City of Cebu, City of Davao and any other city with two (2) or more legislative districts shall continue to be governed by the provisions of Sections 2 and 3 of Republic Act No. 6636: [...]."

WHEREAS, Section 2 of R.A. No. 6636, as amended by R.A. No. 6637, states:

"Section 2. Metro Manila Area. - [...] the City of Caloocan shall have six (6) councilors for each of their representative districts who shall be residents thereof to be elected by the qualified voters therein. [...]"

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the power vested in it by the 1987 Constitution, R.A. Nos. 6636, 6637, 7166, 11545, and other relevant election laws, the Commission **RESOLVED**, as it hereby **RESOLVES**, to promulgate and approve the following implementing rules and regulations:

SECTION 1. *Title.*–These rules and regulations shall be referred to as the "Implementing Rules and Regulations of R.A. No. 11545", or the "IRR".

SECTION 2. *Reapportionment of the First Legislative District of the City of Caloocan.*–The First Legislative District of the City of Caloocan shall be reapportioned into two (2) legislative districts, as follows:

- a. The First Legislative District shall be composed of Barangays 1, 2, 3, 4, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 159, 160, 161, 162, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, and 177; and
- b. The Third Legislative District shall be composed of Barangays 178, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187 and 188.

SECTION 3. *Incumbent Representative.* – The incumbent Representative of the present First Legislative District of the City of Caloocan shall continue to represent the said legislative district until noon of June 30, 2022.

SECTION 4. *First Regular Elections*. – The first regular elections in the new Third Legislative District, as well as in the First Legislative District of the City of Caloocan shall be held on May 09, 2022.

SECTION 5. *Allocation of Seats for Members of the House of Representatives.* – Each of the new First and Third Legislative Districts of the City of Caloocan shall have one (1) District Representative in the House of Representatives.

SECTION 6. Allocation of Seats for Elective Members of the Sangguniang Panlungsod. – Each of the First and Third Legislative Districts in the City of Caloocan shall have six (6) Members of Sangguniang Panlungsod.

SECTION 7. *Separability Clause.* – If any section or provision of this IRR is held unconstitutional or invalid, any other section or provision not affected thereby shall remain valid and effective.

SECTION 8. *Repealing Clause.* – All rules and regulations or parts thereof which are contrary to or inconsistent with this IRR are hereby repealed, amended, or modified accordingly.

SECTION 9. *Publication.* – The Education and Information Department of the Commission shall cause the publication of this IRR in two (2) daily newspapers of general circulation in the Philippines.

SECTION 10. *Effectivity*. – This IRR shall take effect on the seventh (7th) day after its publication.

SO ORDERED.

AIMF

FF M. ABAS hairman

NZON Commissioner

Commissioner

ARLO Commissio

Commissioner

FFROLINO

ANTONIO T. KHO, JR Commissioner,

CERTIFICATION

APPROVED by the Commission En Banc on July 7, 2021 during its regular online meeting pursuant to COMELEC RESOLUTION NO. 10671, entitled: Supplemental Resolution to COMELEC Resolution 9936 promulgated March 25, 2015; "Rule on the Enactment and Promulgation of Executive or Administrative Resolutions' providing for other format of meetings to include online meetings applicable in times of the COVID-19 pandemic and the imposition of Community Quarantines and similar emergency situations.

ATTY. CONSUELO B. DIOLA Acting COMELEC SECRETARY

Page 4 of 4